[my] Pure Blah

What was supposed to be my ‘big’ week of training was just pure ‘blah’. In fact, if you had a ‘blah’ week then you can probably blame it all on me. You see, I didn’t arrive home until 3am on Monday morning after driving for 13 hours from Victoria. All was fine, I was going to have a decent sleep in and get up to do the long run I had missed the day before.

First mistake.

Trying to play catch-up on triathlon training never works for me (does it work for anyone?!). But the real issue was what I discovered later in the afternoon.

It shook me.

It threw out world order.

It shifted the Earths axis of rotation ever so slightly.

I…I…I’m even finding it hard to admit. But I do take full responsibility.

I forgot to make my bed.

This sort of disaster just doesn’t happen to me. I have controls in place. Habits in order. Hospital corners and fluffed cushions perfected. How could I faulter from my routine?

Well, that was it. The rest of the week was ruined.

Monday – My Garmin wouldn’t pick up the satellites, so the 17km run only showed 14km. My swim that night was like trying to free your leg from tightly tucked sheets, riddled with cramps. To make it worse, it was the first time I had nothing else to complain about – reasonable lane buddies, not too busy and the water wasnt’t that freezing!

Tuesday – Vanished without effort. It rained, and I loved it. It was my excuse for a complete doona day – warm and comfortable. I haven’t had a Tuesday off since starting to train for the 70.3 World Champs, as it’s normally my love/hate velo session. Needless to say, it was more like a satin sheets day… a good idea at the time, but I regretted it later. I’m sure it was the stupid unmade beds’ fault! See what happens when you get out of a routine!

Wednesday – More rain was like tears from the bed-making Gods. The punishment was not getting to do my favourite ride to Pie in the Sky, with the much anticipated 4x PITS Hill repeats. 45 minutes on the trainer and a painfully slow 30min run off the bike did not offer any solace.

Thursday – Because my routine was completely crumpled, I threw in a 55km ride to Fraser Park, with a couple of fun hill repeats. Haven’t done it in a while, but remembered it was like a good rumble between the sheets!

Friday – Another cold and miserable day where I found my bed had grown arms and trapped me inside the warm covers. I missed my favourite swim session of the week (across the bay), and more importantly, the coffee with fine friends that follows. So, to redeem myself I swam a decent 2.8km swim at the pool in the middle of the day.

What is the go with my egg head?? Too much time in bed perhaps!

Should have stayed in bed!

Saturday – Another session outside the routine, and in an effort to squeeze in some sort of long ride for the week reminded me that I should just stick to my normal thing. My bike was like a vulnerable air mattress crossing glass covered ground. First flat tyre in a very long time, and of course my cannister valve thingy didn’t work…so, a long wait until passers-by had a pump I could borrow!

The moral of the story – routine is a necessity for me. If you make your bed (or not) you are the only one that has to lie in it! So, you’re welcome to blame me if your world order was a little out. I promise though, next weeks training will be all tucked in and neatly made!
Always mt PB
xk

Leave a comment